Health and Social Care

Available in: 
Course Outline: 

The Level 2 Extended Certificate in Health and Social Care has been designed to give you the opportunity to develop specialist knowledge and practical skills relevant to the health care sector. 

The programme is delivered over three years and upon successful completion you will have the opportunity to progress at Level 3 in further education or training to achieve aspirations in careers such as Nursing, Midwifery, Psychology, Occupational Therapy, Social Work, Public Health, Nutrition, Physiotherapy, Counselling, Pharmaceutical Occupations, Bio-Medical Sciences, Community Health 


What will learners study as part of this qualification?


This qualification has core, mandatory and optional specialist units. Learners must complete the two core units, the two additional mandatory units, and a choice of optional specialist units to reach a total of 360 GLH.

Core units include: Human Lifespan Development and Health and Social Care Values.

Mandatory units include: Effective Communication in Health and Social Care and Healthy Living.

The optional specialist units may include: 

Human Body Systems and Care of Disorders, Services in Health and Social Care and The Health and Social Care Sector and The Early Years.